English |  |  Español

Who can nominate?

Nominations can be filed by any agency or organization or individual that has formulated / funded /implemented a geospatial project/technology or policy that has an official entity or registered office in Latin America region. The submission should necessarily be for a project /technology or policy that has been implemented within the last two years i.e. May 2012 till date.

What can be nominated?
Nominations are being invited under two categories

Geospatial Application Excellence Awards: Geospatial user organizations shall be invited to submit their nominations for making excellent usage of geospatial tools in following fields:
  1. Agriculture
  2. Construction planning and management
  3. Disaster Management and mitigation
  4. Environment protection, monitoring and management
  5. Geology and Mining
  6. Insurance
  7. Law Enforcement
  8. Oil and Gas
  9. Public safety
  10. Telecom
  11. Transportation management
  12. Urban Planning
  13. Utilities- Water, Power
  14. Other

The award will be given to the user organization along with credit to the developer of the application.

Geospatial Policy Implementation:
Policy makers and implementers whose work directly impacts in development of geospatial science, technology and business on a national, regional as well as a global scale are eligible to submit their nominations for this category. The short-listing and selection procedure for this category will necessarily have to cover aspects of end member benefits, actual policy implementation as well as the tangible as well as intangible benefits to the geospatial industry and mankind at large.
  1. Spatial Data Infrastructure
  2. Standards
  3. Intellectual Property Rights
  4. Public Private Partnership
  5. other

Who is eligible for the award? The awards will be presented to the organization that has implemented the project and or owns the innovation or has formulated and implemented a policy. In case of the Geospatial Application Excellence Award, the implementing agency as well as the developing agency will be given credit.
Criterion for rejection of any of the nominations:
  1. All incomplete forms will be summarily rejected.
  2. Wrongly nominated (Category).
  3. Projects/Products/Policies not connected with the geospatial domain.
  4. Projects, Products, Policies – at a drawing board stage.
  5. No tangible achievements or socio-economic benefits
  6. False claims.
NOTE: If multiple nominations are received for the same project/product/policy, the best submitted nomination (complete in all aspects) will be short listed provided it does not fall in the above listed reasons.
Submission of nomination for Latin America Geospatial Awards 2015 are accepted before September 15, 2015.
  • Dr. Hrishikesh Samant
    Editor (Honorary)
    Geospatial Media and Communications
    Cell: +91 982 037 4534